How to opt out of WhatsApp sharing your information with Facebook

Did you know that if you don’t change your settings, WhatsApp will share your data on Facebook after 30 days of seeing Whats App’s latest privacy policy update?

No, it’s not a rumor; apparently, WhatsApp plans on sharing the user data with its parent company, Facebook to improve their ads. It is first time in four years since being bought by Facebook that WhatsApp is updating their terms and conditions.

main-whatsapp-is-updating-its-terms-and-privacy-policy-for-the-first-time-in-four-years

The user data that is going to be shared includes your phone number and last seen will on WhatsApp. However, your phone number will not be visible publicly and it will not fill the phone number part of personal information on Facebook. The information will be used by Facebook to provide you with filtered ads if you allow them to share your data. But don’t go running to the hills just yet, it does not mean that your pictures, messages and other files that you share on WhatsApp will be handed to Facebook. Due to user-to-user encryption, the privacy of messages and pictures that you share on WhatsApp will remain untouched and Facebook will not be able to view it.

From the first time you see the update in privacy policy page when you open your WhatsApp, you have 30 days to agree and not agree with it. There are two ways of opting out of the changes in the new policy.

The first method

whatsapp-new-privacy-policy-do-not-share-990x557

If you have not yet accepted the privacy policy of WhatsApp, you can opt out of new terms and conditions whenever you see the update in terms and conditions page. Simply tap on “read more…” and it will display you its latest update in policy and uncheck the box that reads “Share my WhatsApp information with Facebook…”. Your information will not be shared. Now, you can tap on “Agree”.

The second method

whatsapp-facebook-opt-out-settings-screens-02

For those who did not pay any heed to the update page when they opened WhatsApp, you have 30 days to opt out of latest terms and conditions.

Simply go to WhatsApp settings and tap on Accounts. You will find an option that reads “share my account info”, turn it off and you will receive a pop up message that will confirm if you are sure you don’t want to share info with Facebook, tap on “Don’t share”.

Visit owogroup.com

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s